Untitled

Untitled by Dáire Lawlor
Untitled by Dáire Lawlor for Rethinking the Body exhibition by UCA and Gallerie Surrey

As the daughter of two medical professionals, I have grown up around hospitals and doctors and nurses my entire life.  Talk about medicine has been a staple part of my growing up, and as someone who suffers from chronic recurring depression and insomnia, as well as chest and throat issues, constant visits to my GP are something of the norm.  This project allowed me access to the archives where stigma was present and art was made into a conductor of emotional resonance for those who suffered.  During my research, I began to wonder, how can I reflect the trials of mental illness?  Is it necessary to show the face at all, which initially had been so important to me?  In the end, I wanted to create something that was uncomfortable to look at, that was empty inside, hollowed out, and drained from the constant need to put up a front.  Mental illness renders you invisible to society, and yet also considered a burden.  In this piece, I wished to explore the feelings of otherness, powerlessness, seclusion, and, through the perception of others, the loss of personhood and autonomy.

Leave a Reply

